Fave Fifteen of 2015

Hi Reader! Is your holiday good so far? 2015 is almost over in a matter of days and I think it has been a great year for me. Two things in particular, first, I got into blogging and I’ve met such amazing people who love the things I love to do 😉 . Second and definitely the best thing that has ever happened to me in my entire existence here on earth is finally getting into med school. So YAY to 2015, thank you Daddy God for this year and with fingers crossed Hi 2016!

Now contrary to those wonderful things, I have read a total of 40 books out of 80 this year which means (if you know me in goodreads) that I haven’t completed my reading challenge. *hides in shame.

Why you ask? LIFE HAPPENED.

But even though I didn’t make it, I believe I’ve read more than a handful of great books this year and so I present to you a list of my fave fifteen books of 2015. TA-DA!

15. Ready Player One by Ernest Cline

Genre: Science Fiction

I believe I’ve said enough about how cool this book is in my past posts but if it’s your first time hearing it, you can check out my review here. Also, this one’s going into a movie directed by Steven Spielberg.

14. Still Alice by Lisa Genova

Genre: Adult Fiction

This book talks about a story of a woman, a wife and a mother who tries to live her life the way it used to be even after being diagnosed of a  neurodegenerative disease.

13. Where Rainbows End by Cecilia Ahern

I think everyone have heard of this book of course since it was adapted into a movie entitled Love, Rosie with stars Lily Collins and Sam Claflin (omg ❤ ) . Now I don’t think I can fully express how frustrating yet beautiful this story was unfold. Grab it and see for yourself. Full review here.

12. A Dance of Dragons by George R.R. Martin

Genre: Epic Fantasy

It’s the latest book from the series A Song of Ice and Fire. I know that a lot of people have seen the TV show but have not read the book yet because well, it is a big book. There is just so much that this book has given and oh Jon Snow.

11. Everday by David Levithan

Genre: Young Adult, Romance

This is one helluva of a book. The premise is totally unique and it taught me so much. Gosh, I love David Levithan. A genius he is.

10. Vicious by V.E. Schwab

Genre: Science Fiction

This book reminded me of X-men which is not bad. It’s totally wicked and I really love the conflict between the two protagonists.

9. All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven

Genre: Young-Adult

A book that talks about serious subjects such as depression and suicide. It opens up a more realistic view of people suffering from such mental issues. Full review here.

8. Never Let Me Go by Kazuo Ishiguro

Genre: Science Fiction, Dystopian

I’m so glad I picked this up before the year ends. It’s one of those books that reveals its secret in the most perfect way.

7. It’s Kind of A Funny Story by Ned Vizzini

Genre: Young Adult

Another book that talks about mental health issues. You know when a book has authenticity in it because it manages to touch your soul. I believe that this book realistically depicted what a person suffering from depression is actually going through. My respect to Mr. Ned Vizzini. Full review here.

6. Norwegian Wood by Haruki Murakami

Genre: Romance, Coming-of-Age

I’ve recently known this author through a friend and now Haruki Murakami is one of my all-time favorite author. This is the first book I’ve read from him and I can’t stop recommending it to friends. Full review here.

5. To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee

Genre: Coming-of-age

Everything about this book is thought-provoking and reading it was like a journey of a lifetime in the eyes of girl. Woah right? So yeah, this one isn’t just my favorite for 2015, it for a lifetime as well.

4. Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen

Genre: Romance

Oh yeah, every girl (probably) have swooned over Mr. Darcy and why not? Really this is a classic I will forever love.

3. Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Alire-Saenz

Genre: coming-of-age

I’ve said this before and I’m saying it again. I am in love with Ari and Dante. They’re probably one of the best characters I’ve read so far. This book could teach a lot of people into what a person’s identity and individuality really is. Full review here.

2.  A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness

Genre: Contemporary, coming-of-age

I could just talk about this book for hours but of course I cannot. But in just a few words let me tell you that reading it has been an eye-opener. The story of the kid with a nightmare and a monster may seem simple but in its simplicity it has shown the truth about life.

1. The Shock of the Fall by Nathan Filer

Genre: Coming-of-age

It’s a debut novel and I think this book is responsible for why I am into blogging right now. After reading it, it was like WOAH! I’ve recommended it to almost every one I know and I couldn’t stop talking about it. I only read it this year but I’ve reread it twice already. So you see, saying I LIKE this book is an understatement. The protagonist here has a mental disorder and the whole experience of reading it was different. Full review here.


 

Thank you for reading that long list of mine. You may have noticed that I’ve read a couple of coming-of-age and science fiction genres this year because well I love those genre. And If you may recall, I’ve posted a list of the series I should get into this year here but unfortunately, I only started a few and never completed any.

Why you ask? LIFE HAPPENED.

So that is the reason why I only have one book in a series in this list. And hey, ’twas an epic book. 😉


 

How about you? Do you have any book in this list that also belongs in your top reads this 2015? Let me know down below and share it with everyone else too. Cheers to 2015. Bye for now, readers.

2 thoughts on “Fave Fifteen of 2015

Leave a comment