May Wrap-up and June TBR

I feel like everything in the past month just flew by. It’s already the third day of June which means I have exactly 37 days left of freedom. But to be honest, (I can’t believe I’m about to say this!) I kinda miss school. Some days I’d like to start on those big and intimidating medical reads but most of the time, I dread the arrival of July coz that’s when the real thing starts. But before I jump into the other life that I’ve also been dreaming of, I have planned how my June’s gonna go, as bookish as it’s supposed to be. And before I share it with you guys, here’s a wrap-up for the month of May. I have read 6 books in total and I’d say it was a quality over quantity kind of book month.


Clean Break
(4 out of 5 stars)

29351778

I got a free copy from the author in exchange for an honest review and honestly, this book was surprisingly engrossing and full of humor. You may read my full review HERE!

The Mansion Twins
(4 out of 5 stars)

23177684

I also got a free copy of this novel in exchange for an honest review. A very exhilarating read! It was all funny, adrenaline-packed and magical. I have enjoyed the adventures of the Senka twins and I can’t wait to read more about them and their world. You may read my full review HERE! 

Knife of Never Letting Go
(5 out of 5 stars)

20758104

Patrick Ness is a cold-hearted storyteller in the most hauntingly awesome way! I have probably held most breaths reading this books than in any real life events. It was an exhilarating read and the writing was so captivating and engaging you simply cannot resist the urge to read the next page. This novel is dark, brutal, full of suspense and kept my awake at night until I finish it. Full review to come.

The Universe Versus Alex Woods
(4 out of 5 stars)

15984269

A book that talks about life, death and an unlikely friendship between a young man and an old man. The story was a mixture of happiness and sadness. It is insightful and very much a great read. Full review to come. 

Six of Crows
(5 out of 5 stars)

23437156

I am lost for words. Damn it, it was so badass and dark and aaargghh. Inej and Kaz oh my gosh. I am drawn to the darkness in both of them. Jesper and Wylan, I love reading through their conversations.  And oh my gosh Matthias and Nina made me feel love both the good and bad side. I can’t wait for the sequel *grabby hands* and I still can’t move on from this world. *stares into the abyss* Full review to come. 

The Forgotten Flapper
(4 out of 5 stars)

25728453

I got a free copy of this novel from the author. A great read. It felt like I was brought back in time when everything else happened. Because clearly this was a well-researched story. Honestly, reading it feels different, like even though I have to put it aside for awhile, the moment I get back to it again, I’m instantly drawn into the story like I never even put down in the first place. Full review to come. 


There you have it, my kind of May. See how every book I’ve read is a great book? What a way to live this year indeed! *contented sigh* And if you have noticed, I have yet to publish a lot of reviews, so stay updated. And without further ado, I present to you my reading plans this month of June! drumroll please….


Note: Click on the titles to read a synopsis from Goodreads.
The Ask and The Answer by Patrick Ness

This is actually my current read. And I’m more than half-way through the book. Slow-paced than the first one but boy the premise is still hauntingly unique and engrossing. This is the second book of the Chaos Walking Trilogy.

Colorless Tsukuru Tazaki and His Years of Pilgrimage by Haruki Murakami

Yes, I recently purchased yet another book of Haruki Murakami because why shouldn’t I?

Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff

I know your shocked. I’ve been eyeing this one off in every bookstore that I pass by last year. But I have to summon every self-control I have left not to buy it just yet because I might ravage my way into reading it and fail another exam. And now that vacation’s still here, I will be perusing its pages before it’s too late.

A Court of Thrones and Roses &  A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas

The hype around this book series got me into a not-to-be-disregarded kind of curiosity. And also, I’ve enjoyed reading fairytale retellings. I usually take a step back around books with so much hype by not reading any reviews about it to avoid destructive expectations. So yes, I am picking it up this month with one blind eye.

Night Film by Marisha Pessl

I am also currently reading this book because yes, I get distracted easily too. Deciding to read this book took me a lot of courage because I may read crime fiction but this one is on a whole new level. All these mysteries, murders, secrets and horrors of killings is just way too dark and eerie I am shocked I picked it up at night. But I’m really drawn to it already so there is no turning back.

A Separate Peace by John Knowles

I found this book while I was supposedly window shopping in a bookstore. It;s a coming-of-age classic novel that talks about friendship and growing up during the time of World War II.


Note: Source for all book images is Goodreads. 

And there you have it! I have 7 books on my June TBR and I do hope to read all of it this month. I will also be posting the promised reviews mentioned above along with the other review requests from authors anytime starting next week. 😀

I hope you have/had a wonderful day wherever part of the planet you are! God bless you, readers 😘

 

Leave a comment