A classic romance: Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen

IMG_9191

Publisher: HarperTeen-HarperCollins (the copy I borrowed)

Orginally published on: 1813

Format owned: I don’t own it,  borrowed it from a friend

Genre: Classic, Romantic Comedy

Synopsis (via Harper Teen Edition):

“Darcy had never been so bewitched by any woman as he was by her.”

With all the forces of the world conspiring to keep Mr. Darcy and Elizabeth Bennet apart, how will fate manage to bring them together? It certainly won’t be easy if they’re fighting it every step of the way. But theirs is a love that was meant to be, despite all the odds against them.

One of the most captivating love stories of all time, Jane Austen’s enduring masterpiece is beloved by generation after generation. Beautifully presented for a modern teen audience, this is the must-have edition of a timeless classic.


I could count with my fingers the romance novels that has greatly impacted my life! One of which is this beautiful book by Miss Jane Austen. Earlier this year I decided to expose myself with the classics. Before I could even come up with a list, the letters spelling out the name of Jane Austen danced off into my field of vision. Shamefully, I do not own any of her novels. BUT before you wallow in sadness, let me tell you that I am currently saving up to buy a collection of her books!

So you may now relax!

Because if you still didn’t know, Jane Austen was added to my list of favorite authors after reading Pride and Prejudice earlier this year. So of course, it would only seem logical to buy all of her written works! right?

Since I am not a huge fan of romance novels, it was kind of a risk for me to read a classic one. HAHA! I will not further elaborate my opinions towards romance novels but I just have to say that this one was exactly what I’d appreciate for this genre. I mean, I didn’t know that I liked it until I was in love with it. It wasn’t a full-on romance with so much “tension” nor a cutesy, teeny love affair that is just so corny I couldn’t stand it. For me it was just the right amount, plus being a classic it was perfect! Maybe I shouldn’t talk further about it because I might not give justice to it (I’m just really afraid to give reviews on anything classic! :D). But I have to say that Miss Jane Austen and her literary prowess affected me greatly into reading as much classic novels as I could. I massively admire the characters she introduced and the way she has given life to each of them. The humor and substance there is to this book was really worth the read.

And also i just have to mention one more thing: MR. DARCY! ❤

Jake-the-dog

So yeah, I definitely recommend you guys to read it and see for yourself! Have a nice day ahead and God bless 😉

8 thoughts on “A classic romance: Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen

  1. YAY! I’m so glad you started reading classics and especially Jane Austen. Pride and Prejudice is one of my faves, but my favorite Austen book is actually Sense and Sensibility.

    I’ve been reading more contemporary/modern literature because classics seem so intimidating lately. I used to read a lot of them in high school, stopped reading for pleasure entirely in college, and got back into reading now that I’ve graduated. Hopefully, I can work up to reading them again.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yeah, i agree, classics are intimidating! hahaha but its really really good 😀 i hope you do get back on reading them soon :)) also, Sense and Sensibility is the next book im planning to read from Jane Austen. i just cant wait to purchase all of her books.

      Like

Leave a Reply

